As Above…

starlings 1

Driving out in an area with a lot of pasture, I suddenly noticed masses and masses of small shadows crossing the pavement. Looking up, I saw a huge flock of starlings banking and wheeling in the sky. I pulled over and got out of the car to take a picture and as I did so, I suddenly became disoriented. The action of the flock, as it turned and flowed in an achingly blue sky, was so like a school of fish that I was briefly unsure of what I was looking at—was I looking up in the sky at birds, or down in the water at fish? The phrase “As above, so below” came to me with an intensity that almost knocked the breath out of me. I stood there then for a long moment, just letting the shadows of that vast flock flow over me

Leave a Reply

